Victims of Red-Terror Memorial Web-Site

Solemn Bulletin Board (Please be solemn and respectful)

The First Victims


What Follows is the list of 60 senior government officials, civil servants, decorated war veterans and elite army officers summarily executed by the Dergue firing squad on 24th November, 1974.

  1. Lij Tsehafi Ti-izaz Aklilou HabteWold

  2. Leoul Ras Asrate Kassa

  3. Lij Indlakatchew Mekonnen

  4. Ras Mesfin Sileshi

  5. Lieutenant Colonel Tamrat Yigezu

  6. Kibur Ato Akalework Habtewold

  7. Dr. Tesfaye Guebre Egzy

  8. Ato Mulatu Debebe

  9. Ato Abebe Reta

  10. Dejazmach Solomon Abraham

  11. Dejazmach Legesse Bezou

  12. Dejazmach Sahlu Difaye

  13. Dejazmach Workneh Wolde Amanuel

  14. Dejazmach Kifle Ergetou

  15. Dejazmach Worku InqoSelassie

  16. Dejazmach Aemero Selassie Abebe

  17. Dejazmach Kebede Ali Wele

  18. Colonel Solomon Kedir

  19. Afe Negus Abedge Debalk

  20. Kibur Ato Nebiye Leul Kifle

  21. Kegnazmach Yilma Aboye

  22. Kibur Ato Tegene Yeytechawork

  23. Kibur Ato Solomon GuebreMariam

  24. Kibur Ato Hailu Teklu

  25. Lij Hailu Desta

  26. Blata Admassu Reta

  27. Fitawrari Dems Alamirew

  28. Fitawrari Amde Aberra

  29. Fitawrari Tadesse InqoSelassie

  30. Lieutenant General Abey Abebe

  31. Lieutenant General Kebede Guebre

  32. Lieutenant General Diresse Dubale

  33. Lieutenant General Abebe Gemeda

  34. Lieutenant General Yilma Shibeshi

  35. Lieutenant General Haile Baykedagne

  36. Lieutenant General Assefa Ayene

  37. Lieutenant General Belete Abebe

  38. Lieutenant General Issaya GuebreSelassie

  39. Lieutenant General Assefa Demissie

  40. Lieutenant General Debebe Haile Mariam

  41. Major General Seyoum Gedle Ghiorgis

  42. Major General Goshu Kebede

  43. Major General Tafesse Lemma

  44. Vice-Admiral Eskender Desta

  45. Brigadier General Mulugeta WoldeYohannes

  46. Brigadier General Wondimu Abebe

  47. Brigadier General Girma Yohannes

  48. Colonel Yalem Zewd Tessema

  49. Colonel Tassew Modjo

  50. Colonel Yigezu Yimene

  51. Major Berhanu Metcha

  52. Captain Mola Wakene

  53. Captain Demesie Shiferraw

  54. Captain Belay Tsegaye

  55. Captain WoldeYohannes Zergaw

  56. Corporal Tekle Haile

  57. Private Bekele Wolde Ghiorghis

  58. Lieutenant General Aman Mikael Andom

  59. Lieutnant Tesfaye Tekle

  60. Corporal Yohannes Fetoui



The Emperor is Killed



Haile Sellasie, I (Emperor of Ethiopia until his removal from power in 1974) is widely believed to have been killed by Colonel Mengistu H/Mariam himself in 1975.



The Generals of the 1989 Coup-D'eta Plot



The following are some of the senior army officers and decorated war heroes killed under the orders of Colonel Mengistu himself after the unsuccessful attempt to overthrow the government. Col. Mengistu abruptly interrupted a court procedure and passed a death sentence on all these senior officers.

  1. General Fanta Belay

  2. General Amha Desta

This page is dedicated to the memory of the thousands of young men, women, students, teachers, ministers, clergy-men, civil-servants, business-men and women, peasants, army officers and others who perished during the reign of the Dergue (1974-1991).

For the benefit of today's and future generations of Ethiopians and their friends, these web-site will attempt to document the story of these men and women who were killed with no due process and a day in the court of Law.

Over time, the site will:

a) document the names of as many of the victims of this period as possible.

b) provide and online visitors guest-book where friends and relatives of the victims will pay respect and express their solemn feelings.

c) allow friends and relatives of victims to include the names and stories of victims of this period onto the general database.


































Note: Due to the graphic nature of this web-site parental guidance is required for  a younger audience.

1999, Inc All Rights Reserved.